Athletics Wraps Year with Awards Banquet Monday Evening

Athletics Wraps Year with Awards Banquet Monday Evening


DELHI, N.Y. (May 10, 2018) – The SUNY Delhi Athletics Department held its annual awards banquet Monday evening in Farrell Hall. Director of Athletics Bob Backus awarded men's cross country and track and field's Kobie Lane as SUNY Delhi's Male Athlete of the Year, and honored women's basketball and softball's Samiaya Salley as the school's Female Athlete of the Year. Associate Athletic Director Cathy Foto presented women's cross country and track and field's Tristen Bowker with the SUNY Delhi Female Scholar Athlete Award and men's cross country and track and field's Nicholas Arnecke with the institution's Male Scholar Athlete Award.

Monday's ceremony concluded with cross country and track field coach Robb Munro and men's lacrosse coach Sam Miller shaving their heads to celebrate their teams meeting their goals raising money for St. Baldrick's Foundation for childhood cancer awareness. With both squads' goals set at $1,000, track and field raised $1,125, while men's lacrosse funded $1,103.

The Coach's Awards were as follows:


Samantha Friedman, Women's Soccer
Safiyyah Muhammad, Women's Tennis
Kobie Lane, Cross Country
Kristen Maslanka, Women's Volleyball
Elise McIntyre, Cross Country
Joe O'Halloran, Men's Soccer


SeJean Gibbs, Swimming & Diving
Stephen Harten, Men's Basketball
Samiaya Salley, Women's Basketball
Julia Witt, Swimming & Diving


Keyshawn Clark-Wells, Track & Field
Alex Fisher, Men's Golf
Susan Hoskins, Track & Field
Jenna Lutz, Softball
Eric Morse, Men's Lacrosse
Lac Van, Men's Tennis