SUNY Delhi Approved to Join ACAA

SUNY Delhi Approved to Join ACAA

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (July 10, 2017) – The American Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) has approved SUNY Delhi as the eighth league member by a unanimous vote of the league’s Executive Council. SUNY Delhi, who was approved an exploratory membership with the NCAA for 2017-18, will join the newly-formed NCAA Division III conference, effective September 1, 2017. This coincides with the ACAA beginning operations.

“On behalf of our college and our administration, SUNY Delhi is very excited to enter into this new NCAA conference,” said SUNY Delhi Director of Athletics Bob Backus. “We look forward to working with the Conference membership as we, as an institution, continue to move forward in the NCAA process.”

“SUNY Delhi has made the long-term commitment to move to the NCAA and the institutions of the ACAA are happy to support their effort, as the leadership of the ACAA has accepted them by a unanimous vote to become members of our association,” commented ACAA Commissioner Kelly Higgins.

SUNY Delhi was approved an exploratory membership with the NCAA in March. During the exploratory year, 2017-2018, SUNY Delhi will work with a consultant and NCAA staff to ensure that SUNY Delhi has or adopts guidelines and procedures that meet NCAA's eligibility requirements in terms of athletics, academics, facilities and support services. Throughout the process, SUNY Delhi will continue to compete in the USCAA and NAIA, including all post-season competitions. If SUNY Delhi is accepted into the NCAA in January, 2018 they will go through a provisional membership where they will compete against NCAA DIII institutions, but will not be eligible for post-season play for three seasons.

The Broncos have already made several strides with the ACAA. The softball team competed at the ACAA Championship in May, with Sierra Becht being named to the all-tournament team. SUNY Delhi will also host the ACAA Cross Country Championships on Saturday, October 28.

The American Collegiate Athletic Association is a newly formed NCAA Division III conference that will begin official operations on September 1, 2017 with Kelly J. Higgins as Commissioner. Current members of the league are: Alfred State SUNY College of Technology, SUNY Canton, Finlandia University, Mills College, Pine Manor College, University of Maine Presque Isle and the University of Valley Forge. The ACAA currently sponsors competition in men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer, women’s volleyball, men’s and women’s basketball and softball.