Arnecke, Scavetta, Sood Land ACAA All-Academic Honors

Arnecke, Scavetta, Sood Land ACAA All-Academic Honors

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (November 3, 2017) – The American Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) today released its Men's Cross Country All-Academic Team. On top of the SUNY Delhi men's runners capturing the ACAA title last Saturday, runners Nicholas Arnecke (Edmeston, NY / Edmeston), Matt Scavetta (Livingston, NJ / Livingston) and Anthony Sood (Port Jervis, NY / Port Jervis) were accorded to the team for their academic strides. Arnecke is a junior who holds a 3.98 GPA majoring in Restaraunt & Food Service Management. Scavetta is a junior, holding a 3.54 GPA as a HVACR & Construction Management major. Sood is a sophomore with a 3.62 GPA, majoring in Criminal Justice.

Arnecke has been Delhi's solid second runner during most of this season, teaming up with Kobie Lane and Jon Messler to land top-five spots over the course of the year, even finishing several races as the top three finishers. This included the ACAA Championships, where the junior placed second at 26:49.3, with Lane taking first place and Messler finishing third to help Delhi to the team title with 19 points. The USCAA's 2016 Student-Athlete of the Year, Arnecke has received four athlete of the week honors this year, including one from the USCAA.

Despite seeing limited action in 2017, both Scavetta and Sood made their marks in all the races they competed in. In fact, Delhi won the team title in every race the two ran in, which included the Bronco Classic, Green Mountain Invitational and the ACAA Championships. Scavetta's best showing was at the Bronco Classic, where he placed 28th. Sood's season best came at the ACAA Championships, placing 29th.

This year's all-academic team was dominated by the ACAA's SUNY members, with three from SUNY Delhi, four from SUNY Canton and two from Alfred State.


Nicholas Arnecke, SUNY Delhi

Charles Hanby, SUNY Canton

Paul Ford, SUNY Canton

Caleb Boyce-Wright, Alfred State

Jacob Hanss, Alfred State

Anthony Sood, SUNY Delhi

Deven Grant, SUNY Canton

Anthony Fazio, SUNY Canton

Matthew Scavetta, SUNY Delhi