Text-Only Site

Bronco Men Place Third in First USCAA National Championships, Four Receive All-American

Bronco Men Place Third in First USCAA National Championships, Four Receive All-American

Women's Individuals / Men's Individuals / Men's Team Scores

The SUNY Delhi cross country teams ran in their first USCAA National Championships in what turned out to be brutal conditions due to record high temperatures in Lakeland, Florida.  With temperatures reaching into the mid 90's and not a cloud in the sky, the heat sent many athletes to the hospital and many more were unable to finish the race.

The women's team ran first.  Khiere Ashley led the way as she has all season.  After going through the first mile in 10th place, Ashley noticed the heat and slowed a little dropping back to 14th through two miles.  As the conditions began to hit the runners, Ashley had saved just enough with her decision and moved through the crowd to finish with a great kick and take fourth place overall.  For her effort, she was named First Team All-American.  The team's other rock all year has been Deirdre Nolis and this race was no different.  Nolis took a very different approach than Ashley as she went out hard and fought through the conditions from the start.  Her effort and toughness was rewarded with a top-20 finish placing 17th overall.  Unfortunately, the conditions were a little too much and the women did not get five finishers across the line and did not record a team score.

The men raced second with the temperatures a little higher yet.  They were led by John Hillenbrand, who was not only fighting the conditions, but illness as well.  He proved very tough as he finished 9th overall and earned the first of three second team All-Americans for the men.  Scott Downing and Kobie Lane also earned All-American for the men placing in 12th and 13th place respectively.  Andrew Davis and Cameron Grant-Hill rounded out the Broncos top five placing 17th and 26th overall.  The team compiled 76 points, just seven out of second place.  The event was won by Berea College from Kentucky.