Track and Field Stacks Ten Wins in First NAC Championships Appearance

Track and Field Stacks Ten Wins in First NAC Championships Appearance

NEW LONDON, N.H. (April 29, 2018) – SUNY Delhi women's and men's track and field got their first-ever taste of NCAA Division III conference championship action Sunday at the NAC Championships, hosted by Colby-Sawyer College. It marked SUNY Delhi Athletics' first foray with the NAC since being accepted into the league for select sports earlier this month. Just one day after winning the USCAA National Invitational, the men and women showcased their national championship prowess during a cold and soggy Sunday with ten total event wins, eight men's and two women's.

Delhi did not score in the meet as a team, but individual athletes who won an event were recognized as NAC champions. Husson won the team league title for both the men and women with 198 points and 207 points, respectively.

Three of the Broncos victories' set new meet records. Tyler Magnan won the 400m hurdles at 59.10, becoming the meet's first sub-minute finisher by breaking the previous mark of 1:00.06 set last year. Madeeah Oranchak took first in the 200m dash at 26.64, eclipsing the record of 26.95 set at last year's championships. Thrower Brandon Holliday, who won three events at Saturday's USCAA's, won the discus by way of a distance of 46.82. The previous record was 39.89, also set last year. Holliday also earned second-place finishes in the shot put at 14.16m and the hammer throw at 39.72m.

Kobie Lane, who just came off a stint at Thursday's Penn Relays, won the 1500m run with a time of 4:12.84. Wesley Cruz won the 3000m steeplechase with a time of 10:03.90, while Jon Messler took the 5000m title at 16:20.53. The 4x400 men's team of Lucas Reilly, Sean Andrews, Magnan and Esdras Charles won with a time of 3:36.07. And in the field, Michael Beebe flew to the top of the high jump competition with a height of 1.98m, and Matthew Scavetta won the pole vault at 4.10m.

The 4x100 women's squad of Ashley Magnifico, Arielle Moheimani, Jaylynn Sheppard and Erica Cornmire finished first with a time of 52.14. The 4x400 team of Magnifico, Susan Hoskins, Oranchak and Moheimani took second with a time of 4:21.62. Oranchak also finished second in the 100m dash at 12.83. Diana Echols took second in the hammer throw at 39.72m, and fellow hurler Cheyenne Weaver placed second in the shot put at 11.38m. Ashanti Mirville grabbed a second-place finish in the high jump at 1.43m.

Ian Luhmann posted two second-place ledgers Sunday, finishing the 100m dash at 11.25 and the 200m dash at 23.09.




MEN: 1. Wesley Cruz – 10:03.90



WOMEN: 1. Ashley Magnifico, Arielle Moheimani, Jaylynn Sheppard, Erica Cornmire – 52.14


1500m RUN

MEN: 1. Kobie Lane – 4:12.84, 2. Lucas Reilly – 4:16.90



WOMEN: 4. Susan Hoskins – 18.14


400m DASH

MEN: 3. Esdras Charles – 53.05

WOMEN: 8. Katelyn Lewis – 1:16.01


100m DASH

MEN: 2. Ian Luhmann – 11.25

WOMEN: 2. Madeeah Oranchak – 12.83, 3. Jaylynn Sheppard – 13.63


800m RUN

WOMEN: 9. Brittany Adams – 3:00.98



MEN: 1. Tyler Magnan – 59.10


200m DASH

WOMEN: 1. Madeeah Oranchak – 26.64, 3. Erica Cornmire – 28.26, 6. Ashley Magnifico – 28.96

MEN: 2. Ian Luhmann – 23.09, 5. Sean Andrews – 23.48, 11. Connor Adkins – 24.25, 27. Emmanuel Aisogun – 27.70


5000m RUN

MEN: 1. Jon Messler – 16:20.53, 3. James Blough – 16:38.65, 8. Wesley Cruz – 17:18.10

WOMEN: 9. Tristen Bowker – 22:16.72, 10. 23:29.13


4x400 RELAY

MEN: 1. Lucas Reilly, Sean Andrews, Tyler Magnan, Esdras Charles – 3:36.07

WOMEN: 2. Ashley Magnifico, Susan Hoskins, Madeeah Oranchak, Arielle Moheimani – 4:21.62



WOMEN: 21. Andria Rounds – 16.30m

MEN: 1. Brandon Holliday – 46.82m



WOMEN: 2. Diana Echols – 39.72m

MEN: 2. Brandon Holliday – 45.69m



MEN: 2. Brandon Holliday – 14.16m

WOMEN: 2. Cheyenne Weaver – 11.38m, 4. Diana Echols – 10.31m, 10. Akilah Sanders – 9.26m



MEN: 1. Mike Beebe – 1.98m

WOMEN: 2. Ashanti Mirville – 1.43m, 5. Susan Hoskins – 1.38m



MEN: 1. Matthew Scavetta – 4.10m



MEN: 4. Troy Dickson – 12.06m



WOMEN: 4. Arielle Moheimani – 4.71m, 5. Madeeah Oranchak – 4.68m, 12. Ashanti Mirville – 3.95m

MEN: 7. Troy Dickson – 6.04m