Text-Only Site

Men Generate 19 Spots on All-NAC Team, Four Major Awards

Men Generate 19 Spots on All-NAC Team, Four Major Awards

WATERVILLE, Me. (May 8, 2019) – After a NAC championship season, SUNY Delhi men's track and field were not quite finished with conference honors. The NAC released its all-conference team this week, where the Broncos secured 19 spots, highlighted by winning four of the five major awards.

Senior distance runner Kobie Lane (Port Jervis, NY / Port Jervis) was named the NAC Track Athlete of the Year, while fellow senior distance man Nicholas Arnecke (Edmeston, NY / Edmeston) earned Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. Sophomore jumper Glenn Butler Jr. (White Plains, NY / White Plains) earned the Field Athlete of the Year. Head coach Robb Munro swept the league's Coach of the Year honors, having also received the award on the women's side.

Junior distance runner Lucas Reilly was recognized to the NAC's Sportsmanship Team. This award is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the track and field culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the competition rules and etiquette.

In Coach Munro's seventh season leading the Broncos, the Delhi men claimed six weekly awards during the outdoor campaign, as well as five competitors earning AARTFC regional qualifiers. Entering late April's NAC Championships ranked second behind Husson in the conference's pre-championship poll, Munro's team won 14 events, setting nine new NAC Championship meet records, to take the conference championship as well as the combined team title in the inter-conference championship with the GNAC and NECC.

Lane excelled in the distance races all season. His 5,000 meter time of 14:37.71 at the Penn Relays led the NAC, and broke the SUNY Delhi school record by nearly eight seconds. Three days later, he won the 1500 meters at the NAC Championship in 4:06.03, crushing the NAC Championship meet record by five seconds. Lane then paced teammate Abshir Yerow, who was attempting to achieve a regional qualifying time, through 3,000 meters of the 5K before stepping aside and taking second place in the event.

Arnecke heads into graduation carrying a 3.99 GPA in Hospitality Management. He ran the fastest 10,000-meter time in the conference this season at Penn Relays with a time of 31:20.94, then went on finish second in the event at the NAC Championship in a time of 34:14.90. He holds the second-fastest time in the conference in the 5,000-meter run after timing in with a mark of 14:52.81 at Princeton in April before finishing third in the NAC Championship race (15:53.12). He volunteered on the move-in crew at Delhi, for an elementary school anti-bullying carnival, and also at the Pit Run in Oneonta, NY. Arnecke manages to give to his community, and excel on the track and in the classroom, while also working 30 hours per week at the local grocery store.

Butler won the NAC individual titles in the long jump (6.87m) and the high jump (2.06m) and placed second in the triple jump (13.20m), which were all lifetime bests. His marks in the high jump and long jump set new NAC Championship meet records, while topping the three-conference field at the event. Butler added another NAC Championship win in the 100-meter dash (11.44), which was also a lifetime best. The sophomore was crucial to the Broncos' team victory at the NAC Championship, and the Inter-Conference Championship across three conferences (GNAC/NECC) in New England.

2019 All-NAC Outdoor Track and Field Team

100 Meter

  • Glenn Butler, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi 11.44
  • Evan Chadbourne, Sophomore, Husson 11.46

200 Meter

  • Devon Davis, Sophomore, Thomas 22.76#
  • Evan Chadbourne, Sophomore, Husson 23.27

400 Meter

  • Devon Davis, Sophomore, Thomas 50.64*#
  • Sean Andrews, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi 51.52

800 Meter

  • Zach Hartman, Sophomore, Husson 1:59.60#
  • Jarrod Hooper, Freshman, Thomas 2:00.73

1500 Meter

5000 Meter

10,000 Meter (first time event held at the NAC Championship)

110 Meter Hurdles

  • Humphrey Banful, Freshman, SUNY Delhi 15.71*#
  • Phillip Feeney, Freshman, Husson 18.20m

400 Meter Hurdles

3000 Meter Steeplechase

  • Jarrod Ottman, Junior, Thomas 10:08.00
  • Bladimir Pena, Freshman, SUNY Delhi 10:33.48

4x100 Meter Relay

  • Husson – Jake Dobos, Race Bouchard, Evan Chadbourne, Nas Rivera 43.44*#
  • Thomas – Andrew Peterson, Devon Davis, Shaynen Schofield, Alex Thompson 44.38

4x400 Meter Relay

4x800 Meter Relay (first time event held at the NAC Championship)

High Jump

  • Glenn Butler, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi 2.06m*#
  • Kyanti Blyden, Sophomore, Husson 1.95m

Pole Vault

  • Matthew Scavetta, Senior, SUNY Delhi 4.20m#
  • Alex Thompson, Freshman, Thomas 3.65m

Long Jump

  • Glenn Butler, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi 6.87m*#
  • Dominic Laptiste, Freshman, Husson 6.61m

Triple Jump

  • Alex Irving, Freshman, SUNY Delhi 13.31m*#
  • Glenn Butler, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi 13.20m

Shot Put

  • Eric Hathaway, Senior, Husson 13.27m
  • Troy Worster, Junior, Thomas 13.01m

Discus Throw

  • Eric Hathaway, Senior, Husson 38.84m
  • Justin Martin, Senior, Husson 35.82m

Hammer Throw

  • Eric Hathaway, Senior, Husson 48.43m#
  • John Chen, Sophomore, Husson 40.20m

Javelin Throw

  • Jeff Ward, Sophomore, Husson 48.88m
  • Zach Boyle, Freshman, UMaine-Presque Isle 44.80m

Track Athlete of the Year

Kobie Lane, Senior, SUNY Delhi

Field Athlete of the Year

Glenn Butler, Jr., Sophomore, SUNY Delhi

Rookie of the Year

Jarrod Hooper, Freshman, Thomas

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Nicholas Arnecke, Senior, SUNY Delhi

Coach of the Year

Robb Munro, SUNY Delhi


Sportsmanship Team

  • Zach Hartman, Sophomore, Husson
  • Randal Willette, Sophomore, NVU-Johnson
  • Robert Denton, Senior, NVU-Lyndon
  • Lucas Reilly, Junior, SUNY Delhi
  • Isaiah Reid, Sophomore, UMaine-Farmington
  • Sam Carpenter, Senior, UMaine-Presque Isle
  • Dillon Sullivan, Senior, Thomas