Text-Only Site

Butler Earns Bronze in High Jump at AARTFC Championships, Delhi Concludes Landmark Season

Glenn Butler standing in third place on the podium for earning bronze in the high jump.

CORTLAND, N.Y. (May 17, 2019) – The end of the 2019 SUNY Delhi track and field season arrived Thursday evening at the AARTFC Championships at SUNY Cortland, but not before the Broncos made one more trip to the podium. One day after Delhi boasted four podium finishes in the men's distance events, sophomore jumper Glenn Butler Jr. earned bronze status in the high jump on day two by clearing 2.03m. The men finished the two-day competition in tenth place out of 42 teams with 36 points.

Butler also placed 12th in the long jump with a distance of 6.70m. The White Plains, NY native wraps up a memorable second year for the Broncos, where he was a NAC champion in both the high jump and long jump by setting career bests at 2.06m and 6.87m, respectively.

The 4x100 team of Jaylynn Sheppard, Diara Oliver, Erica Cornmire and Madeeah Oranchak finished 12th with a time of 50.93. In a season where the foursome posted three sub-50 times, the ladies' season was highlighted with a season-best 49.71 at Penn Relays, followed by a NAC championship just days later at 49.88.

Junior thrower Diana Echols concluded a stellar season by throwing for 11.01m in the shot put for 21st place. Echols won the NAC title in the shot put and hammer throw, as well as coming to within .04m of the school shot put record earlier this year with a PR mark of 11.71m.

Day one of AARTFC's Wednesday featured Kobie Lane, Abshir Yerow and Nicholas Arnecke taking the top three respective spots in the 5000 meters. Arnecke followed this up an hour later by placing third in the 10,000 meters. Alex Irving set a new PR in the triple jump at 13.97m.

The Broncos marked a satisfying conclusion to their first outdoor season in NCAA Division III. The women's and men's teams swept the NAC Championships in April, as well as topping the three-conference meet that featured teams from the GNAC and NECC. Head coach Robb Munro was named both the NAC Men's and Women's Coach of the Year. Lane earned the conference's Men's Track Athlete of the Year, while Arnecke was named NAC Men's Scholar Athlete of the Year. Freshman Katerina Salcedo received NAC Women's Track Athlete of the Year, as fellow freshman Aliyah McLean received NAC Female Rookie of the Year.


WOMEN'S 4X100: 12. Jaylynn Sheppard, Diara Oliver, Erica Cornmire, Madeeah Oranchak – 50.93

WOMEN'S SHOT PUT: 21. Diana Echols – 11.01m

MEN'S HIGH JUMP: 3. Glenn Butler Jr. – 2.03m

MEN'S LONG JUMP: 12. Glenn Butler Jr. – 6.70m